How Would You Answer Oprah’s Blog

 

Pretend like Oprah’s interviewing you…

This blog idea came straight from Oprah’s August Magazine (Is it stealing, if you give credit to where it belongs?)

 Every month Oprah ask her contributors 4 thought provoking questions. This month’s questions struck home, as a writer/author and I wanted to present them to you…

  1. For years I couldn’t figure out how to … appreciate the girl/women I saw staring back at me in the mirror. I’m not saying I didn’t love myself, but I was always judging myself and comparing myself to the media’s standards, my girlfriend’s standards, my mother’s standards and ultimately some crazy pie-in-the-sky standards I invented for myself. Yes! I had a ton of voices in my head. Maybe that’s why I adore writing so much. I’m able to let the voices out to play.
  1. But then one day… Well, it wasn’t exactly like one day. It was more like years, but it finally clicked. But I do give credit to my boyfriend’s mother. She started me on the right path of self-appreciation. I was in college dealing with my wild curly hair. I was trying different layered hairstyles and none of them worked out. I spent almost every dime I had on hair products and spent too much time in the mirror trying to style my hair; and to add insult to injury it still looked a hot mess. So one day she asked me “Why?”

I looked at her hair and I thought how could she understand my pain? She had prefect curly hair that framed her face like an angel, while mine looked like “She-Woman” straight from the deep Amazon Jungle.

She continued on to explain, “Why are you changing your crown. God made your hair special for you. So why change God’s gift that’s meant solely for you? Child, be proud of your hair and let it be.”

Like I said, it wasn’t like one day it all became clear, but rather over time I applied that lesson to every thing I judged myself on. I asked myself, “Am I changing one of my gifts to fit in?” If so then, I immediately knew I was wasting time and money.

  1. When I need a creative Breakthrough, I… let go of all deadlines that are not family related. I drink wine and if I need to really let go, I might even have a little Jack Daniels at room temperature and people watch for the rest of the afternoon. 
  1. I hope my next aha moment will help me … Verify that I’m doing what I’m meant to do. I have a million things I want to do, but the question I’ve pondered is “are they the things I should be doing?” I don’t know, but I open my door every morning with a plan. I just hope it’s the right one.

About shondabrock

I'm a southern in my heart and a northern in my soul. I've had a few bad wines, but for the most part I've enjoyed enough good wines that it makes up for the few bad bottles. I enjoy writing, but more than writing itself, I love telling a good story, taking my reader off on an adventure starting with "What If"…. I'm a sucker for the Paranormal Romance genre. To me, its nice to be released from "What Is Expected" and believe for 250 pages in "What If's". Its like a vacation with out passports, waiting in line and an expensive credit card bill when you return home. Please Enjoy, but more importantly Stay Inspired…
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

