Everything Except Acceptance

Shonda Brock Acceptance

I haven’t had my inner voice lately. Either it left or I’ve been too loud with living that I didn’t hear it anymore. To say I’ve been busy getting through the holidays with family and work is an understatement. I think the correct picture to justly describe the past ninety days would be “hair on fire,” but I made it through and I’m not bald yet.

 

But, (because there’s always a but) as a writer without an inner voice, bald or not bald, I was on the verge of lunacy. I have lived many years with my inner voice sounding off at life, offering different opinions at the oddest moments, pulling me through and teaching me life lessons. I loved the chaos in my head, and without it, I was lonely with no one to truly see me and no one to offer some off-the-wall crazy can’t-believe-you-didn’t-see-that-coming one-liner, letting me know I am whole and I am loved.

 

All hail to my voice having returned the day before New Year’s Eve.

 

So as I close out the 2014 with too many lists and not enough time to complete the tasks, with my inner voice telling me I was stupid to even create the lists in the first place, I offer you this one message.

 

It’s not a lecture to dig deeper, but a message of acceptance. In this time of being able to reach out and touch everybody simultaneously, and in the age of science, research and technology, information is at our fingertips versus spending long grueling hours in the library. With so much information given so quickly and no time to entirely digest it, it’s darn near impossible to recognize the truth, and even harder to believe in truth when it is revealed.

 

So I ask you to do this in 2015…

 

Be still and listen to your inner voice. Listen to your religion; not the religion taught or written by man, but to the true voice found in your heart.

 

There you will find truth and there you will find acceptance.

 

Remember the Serenity Prayer…

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,

The courage to change the things I can,

And the wisdom to know the difference.

 

Acceptance does not mean you are defeated, nor does it mean you are weak. Acceptance means you are wise.

 

So let your hair be on fire, create your lists, write books, find new ways to do more with less or do less with more, but when you can not because there is no more time left. Your 24 hours have been spent or the deadline is now.

 

That’s okay… Be still. Listen for your voice and find acceptance.

 

When the Start Clock alarms again, be strong and wise and live your life.

 

From my inner voice to yours, “Have an awesome New Year. Cheers to closing 2014 and opening 2015.”

 

 

 

P.S. I’m looking for some new reads. Paranormal Romance is my favorite. Do you have any suggestions?

About shondabrock

I'm a southern in my heart and a northern in my soul. I've had a few bad wines, but for the most part I've enjoyed enough good wines that it makes up for the few bad bottles. I enjoy writing, but more than writing itself, I love telling a good story, taking my reader off on an adventure starting with "What If"…. I'm a sucker for the Paranormal Romance genre. To me, its nice to be released from "What Is Expected" and believe for 250 pages in "What If's". Its like a vacation with out passports, waiting in line and an expensive credit card bill when you return home. Please Enjoy, but more importantly Stay Inspired…
This entry was posted in Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Everything Except Acceptance

  1. This is amazing and more than right! That inner voice whispering bits of truth like an old mother from the rocking chair in the corner of the room bidding you not to go out with that boy or to be sure to be back by dawn. Happy new years to you and may our inner voices raise their voices just a little to be heard more clearly over the noise.

  2. christawojo says:

    I’ve been practicing acceptance since I began yoga and meditation. It doesn’t always take, but the more time you spend in that state, the easier it is to return to it.

    Lots of our stress comes from our beliefs in the way things “should” be. These “shoulds” are extremely dangerous and breed jealousy, hostility, and fear. On a larger scale, these “shoulds” result in war and global discontent.

    Acceptance of yourself, acceptance of others, and acceptance of the state of the world is the key to happiness. Once you let go, things begin to change.

    Great insight, Shonda. Happy New Year and thanks so much for the advice!

  3. Elaine says:

    I really like the idea of “let your hair be on fire.” It’s a great image. Thank you!

  4. Carson Craig says:

    Hi. Great post. I love “Listen to your religion; not the religion taught or written by man, but to the true voice found in your heart.”

  5. This is a very moving post. Thanks for reminding me of the serenity prayer. Just what I needed.
    BrightonHillNaughtyandNice

  6. I love the serenity prayer – wisest piece of advice since eternity.

  7. Pingback: “I Swear I Lived” | Shonda Brock Paranormal Romance Author

Leave a Reply

