When the Unreal Meets the Real

What would you do if your fantasy creation materialized in front of you?

o-FABIO-BIRTHDAY-facebook

Who is your fantasy flavor?

Everybody has a secret fantasy, especially devoted romance readers who relish in the imagery of the right amount of wrong, creating the exact amount of momentum to turn the page. And god forbid if you’re into paranormal romance. That right amount of wrong enters into the realm of the supernatural and then there’s no telling where your imagination and desires may lead.

The question I pose to my devoted readers is what if that special secret fantasy person was real? What if he or she walked right up to you with lust-ridden, love-filled eyes? What would you really do?

Most romance novels begin with this premise: Ms. Non-Assuming-Girl-Next-Door type accidently bumps into Mr. He’s-Too-Dreamy-To-Be-Real guy. You know the type with broad shoulders, chiseled arms and legs, whose drop-dead levels of testosterone are sprinkled with equal amounts of sex appeal.

But don’t count out Ms. Non-Assuming-Girl-Next-Door because she has some redeeming qualities too. She has a heart of pure gold and kindness beyond belief. She has the ability to turn roaming eyes into loyal eyes. Ultimately, she becomes the creature that our Over-the-Top Handsome devil can’t resist.

I know this story line because I read about him and I’ve created my own specially blended man. His physical features may change based on the novel or short story, but his inner core is always the same—my own fantasy flavor.

 

Now back to the question, I asked earlier– “What if my make-believe man approached the real me?”

To start with, the real me has about 10-15 lbs. too much of the real me. There’s something odd about aging. After a certain stage, a few sit-ups and a quick run won’t remove the red wine and filet from the night before. Let’s just say, I can still wear Victoria Secrets, but let’s also say Victoria knows how to help hide some secrets.

Plus, the real me has a little mileage. It’s not that I’m too old, but I’m old enough to know that I get on my own nerves from time to time. Which brings me to the biggest difference between me and Ms. Non-Assuming-Girl-Next-Door, I don’t have that adorable, loving soul. You know the kind of pure soul that soothes Mr. Over-The-Top, Mr. He’s too handsome to be with her.

Now I’m not saying I don’t have a good soul and that my inner me isn’t sweet. (You can ask any devil, they will vouch for me!) But what I am saying is I might not be so pure, my heart might not be that adorable and loving. For you see I live in the real world with deadlines, house chores, whiners, liars and I’ve experienced complete exhaustion with no light at the end of the tunnel. So where does that leave me? It leaves me with living in the real world and needing to give myself a time out every now and then.

But what does this mean, if Mr. Fantasy knocked on my window late one night when my family was fast asleep and he confessed his undying love for me. What would I really do?

 

I ran the whole scenario in my head. I placed my mind and body into it and then the answer came to me…

After the initial shock and recognizing that he’s not a burglar, my stomach would turn over a few times and I would feel the previous night’s fried chicken dinner in the back of my throat. I know exactly what I would do. I would excuse myself and run to the bathroom screaming over and over again in my head “OMG”.

Yes, it so un-romantic, but if I were being really me, I would go straight to the bathroom. Unfortunately, my nerves get the best of me at stressful times. I can’t help it; I have a weak stomach.

Which brings me to another fine point, that may require professional help–why would I run from my secret fantasy? I created him, so why should I be afraid of him? And more importantly, why do I feel not worthy enough for my own creation?

 

Now you know my story, what’s your story?

 

How would you handle meeting your secret fantasy?

 

Happy Readings, but more importantly…

Stay Inspired

 

 

About shondabrock

I'm a southern in my heart and a northern in my soul. I've had a few bad wines, but for the most part I've enjoyed enough good wines that it makes up for the few bad bottles. I enjoy writing, but more than writing itself, I love telling a good story, taking my reader off on an adventure starting with "What If"…. I'm a sucker for the Paranormal Romance genre. To me, its nice to be released from "What Is Expected" and believe for 250 pages in "What If's". Its like a vacation with out passports, waiting in line and an expensive credit card bill when you return home. Please Enjoy, but more importantly Stay Inspired…
This entry was posted in Paranormal Romance, What if? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

