There are Some Places I Cannot Go

Mahalia_Jackson_1962,_van_Vechten,_LC-USZ62-91314

In celebration of Women’s History Month, my organization had a beautiful program this past Saturday. Unfortunately, before the event, I had my own special moment. I was in my third hour of the pre-pre meeting, which was a subcommittee meeting that would be followed by the normal meeting before we had the special ceremony.

Naturally, I had to get a glass of wine to settle my nerves. Who am I kidding? I had several glasses of wine to regain my self-control from the marathon meeting. But when I finally stopped my mental argument of trying to figure-out whose bright idea was it to have a four-hour meeting before a programmed event, I happened to I look up. What I saw brought tears to my eyes. Into the room came nine African-American women. Some walked in slowly with canes and others were in wheelchairs being pushed by loved ones. Each of these ladies were over ninety years old and we were admiring their lives in a program called “Celebrating our Legends.”

These legends represented nine decades of American history. Each one had their own unique story on how they entered this forever-changing world. As I read through the program, the oldest was born in 1917 and another was born on the Mississippi River boat in 1923 while a minister was delivering a hell and fire sermon as her father played music in the background.

And as if my heart wasn’t filling fast enough with joy and pride, another lady took the podium and started to SANG, and yes SANG! (It’s an old southern term of endearment, and another way of saying she could truly sing. It’s the type of voice that moves a still heart or makes a sinner want to repent.)

Are you ready for this? For the first few bars, she sang a cappella Mahalia Jackson’s song, “My God is Real” and later was joined by a pianist.

To further help put you in the right frame of mind, imagine a rich alto voice laced with strong backbone tones singing theses words..

“There are some

I may not know

There are some places

Oh Lord, I cannot go.

But I am sure

Of this one thing

That God is real

For I can feel

Him in my soul.”

There wasn’t a dry eye in the house. Every woman in that room knew in her heart and in her bones that there were some places those legends could not go and yet they continued on and more importantly they lived.

All of them had buried their husbands and even some had buried their young, and yet they all still stood tall, challenging life to move their resolve. For these women had been battle tested and they had the scars to prove it, but with all that being said, they were still here living life to its fullest and looking beautiful while doing it.

Heaven knows there are some places I can’t go in 2015, but I know for sure, I would not be where I am today without those legends being the trailblazers in a time when women had more restrictions and more obstacles to overcome.

Well, I just wanted to share my ‘Aha’ moment I had this past Saturday. If you know a senior woman, please stop the craziness and drama in your life for just one moment and give that legend her due respect because without her, I dare not to think where we might be today.

I love all my sisters in all of our crazy beautiful colors….

Cheers to be being a woman!

About shondabrock

I'm a southern in my heart and a northern in my soul. I've had a few bad wines, but for the most part I've enjoyed enough good wines that it makes up for the few bad bottles. I enjoy writing, but more than writing itself, I love telling a good story, taking my reader off on an adventure starting with "What If"…. I'm a sucker for the Paranormal Romance genre. To me, its nice to be released from "What Is Expected" and believe for 250 pages in "What If's". Its like a vacation with out passports, waiting in line and an expensive credit card bill when you return home. Please Enjoy, but more importantly Stay Inspired…
This entry was posted in Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

