Should You Become a Vampire?

Vampire's Kiss Shonda Brock

All paranormal romance fans know very well the choice given by the vampire. At least one character in a vampire book must make the decision whether they want to become an immortal bloodsucker. Paranormal romance readers love this scenario because they also get to fantasize about having this choice. So, what if a vampire offered you immortality… would you take it?

Let’s see if you have what it takes. Here are the pros and cons of eternal life.


PROS

Avoid death.

This is the most obvious benefit to the vampire’s bite. Death is a serious consequence to life, so if you’re not looking forward to dying, than immortality may be the answer. This is especially handy for those who don’t believe in an afterlife of any kind. You can procrastinate while you have millennia to contemplate the meaning of your existence.

You don’t gain weight.

Once you switch to a liquid diet of blood, you won’t have to worry about extra pounds. Have you ever read about a vampire that was worried about the calorie-count of one drained human?

Added bonus: Now that you don’t eat food, you won’t have to worry about cooking or washing dishes again either.

Strength, supersenses, that magentic vampire allure.

You will be strong and agile, with ultra sensitive hearing and sight. You’ll also be dead sexy (literally) and be able to influence others with your ethereal beauty and charm. Transform all the men who ignored you in the past into your personal slaves. Draw in your enemies and devour them.

All the time in the world.

If you love paranormal romance, choosing immortality means you’ll have eons to complete your to-be-read list.


CONS

You have to kill people.

Would you be willing to murder a person to survive? Some of you might be okay with that. Maybe becoming a different species exempts you from the laws of man. As the top of the food chain, your former human brothers and sisters will merely be food. People with sociopathic tendencies will adapt better, immune to the crippling moral crisis after eating their first meal.

Everyone you know will die!

Unless you make them into vampires, your loved ones will get old, wrinkly, and sick. You will experience the agony of watching them waste away. The world will change and you will face an unfamiliar future while everyone and everything that made up your life disappears.

No more sun worshipping.

Your days of soaking in the rays at the beach are over. Outdoor sports will have to be managed on full moon nights. You’ll have to pick out a coffin, dig into the earth, or completely black-out your bedroom to make sure you get your sleep. But look on the bright side, you won’t experience premature aging or have to worry about skin cancer.


There will be many things you have to consider when a vampire proposes immortality, but look at the key questions below. If you say yes to all three, then immortality is yours.

  1. You must take human lives to eat. Can you kill a person without destroying your conscience?
  1. After a few thousand years, you might get sick of yourself. Can you be mentally strong enough to be you for an indefinite amount of time?
  1. If you are claustrophobic or afraid of the dark, you might want to reconsider a coffin bed and nocturnal lifestyle. Are you okay with tight spaces and dark places?

What was your score?

Would you say yes?

Leave your answer below.

Photo credit under Creative Commons

About shondabrock

I'm a southern in my heart and a northern in my soul. I've had a few bad wines, but for the most part I've enjoyed enough good wines that it makes up for the few bad bottles. I enjoy writing, but more than writing itself, I love telling a good story, taking my reader off on an adventure starting with "What If"…. I'm a sucker for the Paranormal Romance genre. To me, its nice to be released from "What Is Expected" and believe for 250 pages in "What If's". Its like a vacation with out passports, waiting in line and an expensive credit card bill when you return home. Please Enjoy, but more importantly Stay Inspired…
This entry was posted in Paranormal Romance, What if? and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Should You Become a Vampire?

  1. harmony77uk says:

    I would definitely be saying yes to this one.
    I think that I would start like Louis from the vampire Chronicles, you know, have some kind of moral crisis about killing people, but then I think that I will come to terms with it in the same way that he does.
    Not only that, but I love my own company and I prefer night to day any time. Plus, all the time in the world would mean that I am finally able to finish my writing project!

  2. livchanin says:

    You’re right. Every paranormal romance fan has pondered this at one time or another. Hmmm…when you say we must take a human life, are you ruling out the possibility of synthetic blood or a “willing donor” scenario? If I had to take a human life to survive, I would prefer it to be Dexter-style, selecting my victims based on their moral character. No innocents for me, thank you very much.
    But I guess what it really boils down to is this question: Do I have a super-hot mate to spend the rest eternity with? If so, I don’t know that I’d be able to resist. We all know how pesky those “fated” pair-bondings can be.

    • shondabrock says:

      You made me smile with your Dexter-Style reply. I can see you now with your victim wrapped in plastic from head to toe as you read him/her your version of the Miranda Rights. What if you found them innocent? Then you would have to brainwash them as if the event never happened. “I’m in….”

  3. LizaJane says:

    1. You must take human lives to eat. Can you kill a person without destroying your conscience? ANSWER: Why do I have to kill them? I’ve read many stories where killing isn’t necessary to survive. If I did have to kill I’d go after pedophiles and rapists so I could rid them from this earth.

    2. After a few thousand years, you might get sick of yourself. Can you be mentally strong enough to be you for an indefinite amount of time? ANSWER: I think with the world changing as much as it has and will that I don’t see myself getting bored or sick of myself. I can be anyone I want, I have no restrictions placed on me by a society that won’t exist for as long as I will.

    3. If you are claustrophobic or afraid of the dark, you might want to reconsider a coffin bed and nocturnal lifestyle. Are you okay with tight spaces and dark places? ANSWER: It doesn’t have to be a tight space, only a dark one. I would have the resources to have my home made to my specifications and that would include electronic shutters on all windows and doors during day light hours.

    I love this post! What great questions you’ve asked, I’ve enjoyed answering them 🙂

    • 1. Even if you don’t have to take lives, you’d still have to find willing donors if only human blood will do. That’s a lot of trust and you wouldn’t be able to feed off the same people all the time.
      2. Getting over the loss of mortal friends would be a chore, but the chance to see what the world might become and even help to shape it? THAT might be worth immortality. Shutting yourself away from humanity wouldn’t be a good thing, especially since you still have to feed yourself.
      3. Maybe that attitude changes after you become a vampire, that the feeling of safety being in the ground and hidden in a small space outweighs old fears about being trapped there…not that I would know ANYTHING about that.

    • shondabrock says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I hope it gave you some joy today.

  4. cmwdabbs says:

    I totally would if I didn’t have to kill in order to be a vampire. As a human you have the option of eating the salad that your nutritionist tells you is better for you or the cookie that you make for the kids. But if I had the option to be a animal blood drinking vampire…. I so totally would. But if I could have the cookie and the animal blood too, well then sign me up.

  5. Its a tricky one! The ‘health benefits’ are an advantage, if i could choose i would probably want to be able to eat normally and just take blood perhaps once a week or something, raid a blood bank or something! I would probably have to make my loved ones vampires too so they could live with me!

  6. Holy crap. Romantic vampires? Try cruel BORED vampires. Think about it: would you date a cow before butchering out a steak dinner? Pretty vampires do not wander the world looking for companionship; making creates competition, something they don’t want. The ONLY reason they turn anyone is out of cruelty, laughing at a powerless creature succumbing to bloodlust and losing their humanity until they see mortals as beneath them. “Oh, they’re so gorgeous; I love how I feel when they’re close!” That’s their bait, little fishes, drawing you in like a worm on a hook. You will not get what you want; they won’t fulfill any promises; you won’t survive your first letting. If they do let you live, you certainly won’t remember what actually happened – yes, that trope is true – and it means they either didn’t have time to dispose of your body or they intend to come back for it later. One more thing: vampires never, EVER forget. So the next time you open a paranormal romance novel with a dashing pale rogue with a high collar and fangs, remember their victims don’t change them; their victims FEED them.

  7. Holy crap. Romantic vampires? Try cruel BORED vampires. Think about it: would you date a cow before butchering out a steak dinner? Pretty vampires do not wander the world looking for companionship; making creates competition, something they don’t want. The ONLY reason they turn anyone is out of cruelty, laughing at a powerless creature succumbing to bloodlust and losing their humanity until they see mortals as beneath them. “Oh, they’re so gorgeous; I love how I feel when they’re close!” That’s their bait, little fishes, drawing you in like a worm on a hook. You will not get what you want; they won’t fulfill any promises; you won’t survive your first letting. If they do let you live, you certainly won’t remember what actually happened – yes, that trope is true – and it means they either didn’t have time to dispose of your body or they intend to come back for it later. One more thing: vampires never, EVER forget. So the next time you open a paranormal romance novel with a dashing pale rogue with a high collar and fangs, remember their victims don’t change them; their victims FEED them.

    Okay, MAYBE I’m a little bitter…

    • shondabrock says:

      I really don’t know where to begin, other than to say… I really enjoyed reading your comments. You must be a writer.

      • Reader, actually. I used to tear up all that paranormal stuff: vampires, werewolves, were-EVERYTHING, hybrids, demon-kin, special-ops-ninja-lions, you name it. It’s all pretty innocent…until one evening you spot someone who looks lost, a well-groomed professional in a new Escalade that couldn’t possibly be weird or whatever…yeah.
        I’m sorry…I go off on these rants whenever I come across some Lestat-induced vampire choice that he “never had” Cosmo quiz. It all just hits a bit close to home. Forgive me? We all know none of this is real…

  8. nawallovexo says:

    If it wasn’t for those cons I would but I guess no

  9. themichaelas says:

    I definitely would NOT. lol This was an immediate no for me.

  10. shondabrock says:

    Or maybe they are real. Early man would not have recorded vampires/blood drinking demons if something hadn’t scared them, only recreational man started writing about vampires for fun….

  11. Pingback: 3 Easy Hacks for Faster Reading | Shonda Brock Paranormal Romance Author

  12. Pingback: Paranormal Romance Books: Our Love Affair with the Supernatural | Shonda Brock Paranormal Romance Author

  13. Pingback: Are Vampires Real? | Shonda Brock Paranormal Romance Author

  14. Pingback: #Amwriting: How to Create Believable Paranormal Characters | Shonda Brock Paranormal Romance Author

Leave a Reply

