“I Knew it Was a Mistake the Moment it was Over” Flash Fiction Contest

mistake quote

I can’t claim this as my original line. I found it in Writer’s Digest Short-Story theme, but the line is simply too irresistible to not let my demented, dark imagination roam with my own short story…

That’s not all… I also want you to run with it in my Summer Flash Fiction Contest kicking off today. Win $100 with your story of the same theme. Continue reading to enter.

“I knew it was a mistake the moment it was over.”


I knew it was a mistake the moment it was over. Everything inside me that originally urged me on and praised me for taking the bull by the horn, was silent as if it had lockjaw. I was left with dread and guilt, and wishing to feel anything else. I would have taken empty. I would have preferred the hollowness of empty vs. the heaviness of guilt.

I wish it was as easy as playing Jeopardy, “I’ll take two hundred for feeling empty and cold.” I can’t stand the daily pressure of the other.

But no, guilt and dread were there, staring right back at me with the anticipation of seeing what god-awful thing would happen next; as the total destruction of my life took place one sin at a time. Perhaps they are hoping for two or three sins at once.

Anything is possible after the first sin has been committed… the sin of Lust. The very sin that filled me so that I paid no heed to my wedding ring or my vows and the promise I broke.

I have to live with being an adulterer.

See, I’ve said the “A” word out loud. I have to live with it. I can’t wash it off. I can’t spray cologne to make the scent go away. I can’t carve it out of my body. I can’t make a list of things my husband is not, which led me to break the promise, because in the end I know what I am. The deed was done.

The deed is in me. It lives in me. I want to tell my story to anyone who’ll listen. I want to tattoo it on my face so the world can see it, but I cannot and I will not.

Why? Because the deed was done with a name that I cannot mention without bringing him back. To say his name is to give him power to return, to repeat the original sin, to fill me with Lust and make me ignore my vows.

In the end he’ll double the weight of guilt and dread that have already aged me beyond this lifetime. I might be able to forgive myself for one momentary slip, but to repeat it again the weight may be too heavy to bear.

I knew it was a mistake the moment it was over.


Your turn

Celebrate the 4th of July with a quickie!

Enter my first ever Summer Flash Fiction contest kicking off for the Independence Day weekend on Friday, July 3rd.

I want your best short-short story in 450 words surrounding the theme, “I knew it was a mistake the moment it was over”

This is an open-genre contest (excluding erotica and children’s stories). Romance, mystery, paranormal, thriller, fantasy–you name it. So tell your tale. If you’re in the top five, your story will be published here on my blog and shared on my social media. If it’s the best you’ll also win $100 in cold cash.

Submissions close on August 24th, 2015. Winners announced September 4th, 2015.

No entry fee!

ENTER HERE

Flash Fiction Contest 2015

Win $100!

About shondabrock

I'm a southern in my heart and a northern in my soul. I've had a few bad wines, but for the most part I've enjoyed enough good wines that it makes up for the few bad bottles. I enjoy writing, but more than writing itself, I love telling a good story, taking my reader off on an adventure starting with "What If"…. I'm a sucker for the Paranormal Romance genre. To me, its nice to be released from "What Is Expected" and believe for 250 pages in "What If's". Its like a vacation with out passports, waiting in line and an expensive credit card bill when you return home. Please Enjoy, but more importantly Stay Inspired…
This entry was posted in Contests, Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to “I Knew it Was a Mistake the Moment it was Over” Flash Fiction Contest

  1. christawojo says:

    Reblogged this on My Sweet Delirium and commented:
    Can you write a 450 story? Of course you can!

    Write a flash fiction piece using the theme “I knew it was a mistake the moment it was over.” Then pop on over to my friend, Shonda Brock’s blog to enter her Summer Flash Fiction contest for a chance to win $100.

    Ends August 4th. No entry fee!

  2. letahawk says:

    Bam! Finished my story. Damn! It’s 568 words. Time to edit…

  3. Pingback: 5 Freaky Paranormal Travel Destinations | Shonda Brock Paranormal Romance Author

  4. ARRivera says:

    Reblogged this on Author A.R. Rivera and commented:
    This seems like fun!
    Visit Shonda Brock blog to get all the deets. . .

  5. Pingback: The Flash Fiction Contest Winners TBA, But First… | Shonda Brock Paranormal Romance Author

  6. Pingback: Short Shorts I Loved: Q & A by Rose O’Kaye | Shonda Brock Paranormal Romance Author

  7. Pingback: Flash Fiction Contest Runners Up: #5 | Shonda Brock Paranormal Romance Author

  8. Pingback: Flash Fiction Contest Runners Up: #4 | Shonda Brock Paranormal Romance Author

  9. Pingback: Flash Fiction Contest Runners Up: #3 | Shonda Brock Paranormal Romance Author

  10. Pingback: Flash Fiction Contest Runners Up: #2 | Shonda Brock Paranormal Romance Author

  11. Pingback: “I Swear I Lived” | Shonda Brock Paranormal Romance Author

Leave a Reply

