Sunshine: A Short Summer Romance

Sunshine a short story by Shonda Brock

A short romantic summer story.

It doesn’t take all day to recognize sunshine, but the main question on the floor is, “What do you do when you see it? Do you run to it and bathe in its warmth? Or do you curse it for being late and not there on time when you needed it most?”

Isn’t that how life works? When you least expect it, when you’re not looking your best or when you’re ever so committed in a relationship, Mr. Perfect walks into your life and stares you in the eye, almost daring you to run and jump into his arms and bathe in his lust and warmth.


I remember as if it was yesterday, but it was really two years ago. I was at a backyard party to kick off the summer fun. The kids weren’t out of school yet, they still had two more weeks, but the summer sun was out and the grills were ready for the long days and late evening barbeques that lay ahead.

I had on a sundress. I was feeling a little self-conscious because I still had a bit of a winter tummy to get rid of, but it was too hot and humid for any thing constricting. And when push turned to shove, who was I kidding? My little tummy after three children was here to stay. So why beat myself up over it? I just needed to enjoy myself. Everything should’ve been cool and easy.

Immediately upon arriving I went straight to the rose-colored Sangria. Sangria on a warm afternoon takes your mind off of petty issues and allows you to enjoy good conversations.

That’s exactly how it all started over a conversation. I met Mr. Sunshine through an introduction. He was my neighbor’s wife’s husband’s friend from England. You know the joke, “The man sitting next to the man, sitting next to the man is the man I’m referring to.”

It was a quick intro because as soon as names were exchanged her husband called her back over wanting more meat for the grill. While my husband carried on his own conversation, about his new smoker and how he could grill the best smoked favored steak in town.

At first it was awkward. My husband normally never leaves me too long during party events, but I think the bragging grounds about his new smoker clouded his judgment.

So Mr. Sunshine and I had fifteen minutes of one-on-one conversation. I can’t tell you the exact words that were spoken, but I can share with you my feelings. Only a few moments into the conversation, I started to feel his warmth. It was so relaxing; it eased into my soul, soothing my tired aching muscles allowing me to lower my social guard.

I know it was not just me feeling this way. I’m confident he felt it to. The conversation was natural, like two old souls joining together, and finishing each other’s sentences. At one point he’d forgotten we were new acquaintances and he leaned in ever so casual and moved a loose curl and whispered into my ear. I felt his breath against my earlobe and I smelled his sweet summer scent. It melted a lazy pathway to my heart.

I closed my eyes for one moment and enjoyed the sunshine.

When I opened them, I found my husband staring back with questioning eyes. There was nothing said that evening that was inappropriate between my new friend and I, but my heart knew the truth. I abruptly excused myself and went to my husband’s side and tried to down play the last fifteen minutes.

Yet my heart still knew the truth. No matter how brief, I allowed another man to touch my soul. I basked in the sun. Twenty-four months to this day, I still remember that moment of sunshine.

If you recall the question, I posed earlier. “What do you do when you find sunshine?” I have the answer.

You run and you find the closest bottle of sunblock. The higher the SPF the better because if you are not ready for the sun, it will burn you, leaving you marked for life.


Flash Fiction Contest 2015

Win $100!

Don’t forget to enter my open-genre flash fiction contest.

Open till 8/24/2015.

450 words

No entry fee

$100 prize!

About shondabrock

I'm a southern in my heart and a northern in my soul. I've had a few bad wines, but for the most part I've enjoyed enough good wines that it makes up for the few bad bottles. I enjoy writing, but more than writing itself, I love telling a good story, taking my reader off on an adventure starting with "What If"…. I'm a sucker for the Paranormal Romance genre. To me, its nice to be released from "What Is Expected" and believe for 250 pages in "What If's". Its like a vacation with out passports, waiting in line and an expensive credit card bill when you return home. Please Enjoy, but more importantly Stay Inspired…
This entry was posted in My Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

