Author SD Wasley on Paranormal Wednesday

SD Wasley author of The Seventh on Shonda Brock

Please welcome SD Wasley, paranormal author of The Seventh Series, to Paranormal Wednesday!

About S.D. Wasley

I was born and raised in Perth, Western Australia where I still live with my partner and two daughters. At five years old, I created my first literary work … a rhyming eight-line poem I orated improve-style for my mother. She suggested I write it down, but after a couple of laborious attempts, I gave up and went to play. Fortunately my mum wrote the rest of it down for me. My first published first novel, The Seventh, was released through Canadian digital publisher Evernight Teen earlier this year. I had a short story in an anthology from the same publisher (Summer Crush, August 2015), and the sequel to The Seventh is due out November 2015. I have recently had short fiction pieces published in Vine Leaves Literary Journal and a flash fiction piece included as the introduction to forthcoming annual literary anthology, Visible Ink. I have a busy life! I run my copywriting business, raise my girls, love my partner and tend my many pets (dogs, cats, chickens and occasionally tadpoles). My home is in a semi-rural area of the Swan Valley wine region and yes, I enjoy a glass of local wine with my writing!


1. What inspired you to write a paranormal story?

I love reading paranormal and especially ghost stories. I’m quite skeptical but there’s a big part of me that wants to be convinced. Like Fox Mulder, “I want to believe”! The Seventh and The Rift were inspired by some real life secret temple-hunting with friends, and the concept of a necromancing seer – someone who sees spirits who bring messages about the future.

2. Do you consider yourself a writer, a want-a-be writer, or a storyteller? Or do you have a new name altogether?

I’m a writer, definitely! Even when I do a day job, it’s writing (I run a copywriting business).

3. Describe your writing. What makes your story and style worth a reader’s time?

It’s really important to me to have characters with depth, quirks and flaws. Nobody’s perfect, and everyone’s on a journey. I think it’s important to capture that in a character. Also, people laugh in real life – and I like to capture than in my books. So you can expect some humour. I like to get the words and grammar right so as not to break the flow for the reader. And I need everything in the story to make sense and have meaning. So when a reader picks up one of my books they can expect an exciting, pacey mystery with some chuckles, romance, and realistic characters!

4. How was your publication experience?

Wonderful. Evernight Teen are supportive and responsive.

5. Can you give me one of your ‘aha moments’? An Aha moment is when g a life lesson becomes clear to you (got it from Oprah).

It’s a writing one. A friend was beta-reading for me and she started to highlight the word ‘suddenly’ throughout my draft. I SUDDENLY realised how often I use the word! And I was able to eliminate 95% of them without taking away from the story in the least. It was a useful epiphany.

6. James Bond ordered a martini, shaken, not stirred. What’s your poison?

Wine. Sauvignon Blanc with ice in summer (because drinks get warm fast in Australia) and a nice red in the cooler months.

7. Describe your favorite place to write when all the stars and the moon are lined up perfectly, and your words flow faster than you can write?

On vacation, in my notebook, curled on a chair with a glass of wine and a pen.

8. In golf there’s always that one perfect stroke that keeps you coming back to play the game again and again, no matter how many bad shots were taken. Tell me that one compliment that was given or that gut feeling that inspires you to keep writing.

Someone I don’t even know told me The Seventh was the best YA they had ever read. That was a jaw-dropping compliment. I still can’t quite believe it!

9. Who do you have to bribe, borrow, or steal from to find the time to create your works?

My kids. I have to bride them with ‘if I can just focus on this for half an hour I will take you for ice cream.’

10. The clincher–describe yourself in six words!

Determined. Honest. Detailed. Passionate. Amused. Impatient.


About The Seventh Series

So, here we all were. Wasn’t it nice to be in the car together as a family? My parents, me … and my ghosts. Sixteen year old Mimi Alston has company. No less than three ghosts follow her around, and only she can see them. At her last school, she was known as the girl-with-imaginary-friends. Now Mimi’s starting fresh in a new town, where she’s determined to make some real friends and fit in for once. She’s ready for a normal life … only, Mimi never counted on this fascination with enigmatic Goth-boy, Drew. When Mimi’s invited to join the elite Gifted Program, she discovers she’s not the only one at the school with an unusual ‘talent.’ A suspenseful tale of secrets and first love, The Seventh pulls you into a world of premonitions, psychic powers, and friendships forged in unlikely places.

And coming November 6th, 2015: The Rift (Book 2 in The Seventh Series)


Thanks so much to SD Wasley for sharing her writing passions with us! 

Find SD Wasley

Website/blog: http://sdwasley.com/
FB Author: http://www.facebook.com/sdwasley
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/sdwasleyauthor
Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/S.D-Wasley/e/B00SIQWBVO/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/12020546.S_D_Wasley
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/sdwasley/
Instagram: https://instagram.com/sdwasley_author/
Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/bahrs9

Buy Her Books

The Seventh and The Rift SD Wasley

The Seventh

Would you like to participate in Paranormal Wednesday? Click here.

About shondabrock

I'm a southern in my heart and a northern in my soul. I've had a few bad wines, but for the most part I've enjoyed enough good wines that it makes up for the few bad bottles. I enjoy writing, but more than writing itself, I love telling a good story, taking my reader off on an adventure starting with "What If"…. I'm a sucker for the Paranormal Romance genre. To me, its nice to be released from "What Is Expected" and believe for 250 pages in "What If's". Its like a vacation with out passports, waiting in line and an expensive credit card bill when you return home. Please Enjoy, but more importantly Stay Inspired…
This entry was posted in Paranormal Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Author SD Wasley on Paranormal Wednesday

  1. sasha3232 says:

    Thanks for hosting me, Shondra! Thrilled to visit your fantastic blog. x S.D. Wasley

  2. shondabrock says:

    Sasha,
    Sorry for the delay. The paying job had me tie-up today and my children’s schedule set the rest on fire. So here I am at 7:30 eastern responding. I loved you comments on wine. Another wine lover! A good glass of wine makes everything better, so I know a glass as you write makes good into great.

    Thank you for participating in Paranormal Wednesday’s. Keep bribing the kids, keep writing and most of all Stay Inspired.

    Shonda

Leave a Reply

