Author Scott A. Borgman on Paranormal Wednesday

Interview with Author Scott A Borgman on

Please Welcome Scott A. Borgman, author of The Exiled Trilogy, to Paranormal Wednesday.

About Scott A. Borgman

I was born in Minnesota, and having lived there, Iowa, Virginia, Arizona, and finally for the past 11 years in Wisconsin, I’ve come to the conclusion that I’d like to move somewhere warm, where it doesn’t get cold and there isn’t snow. Like any. Ever… my Minnesota blood can’t take it! I live with my beautiful wife and three children, a rescued cat, and a brindle colored pit bull who is all kisses and cuddles – and who usually steals my spot in bed at night, so typically I’m up late because she looks too comfy and adorable for me to want to move her.

When I’m not writing, I enjoy spending time with my family, watching movies, reading, playing with the dog, and even though I just entered my fourth decade of childhood, I still enjoy playing the occasional video game. I also love connecting with other authors and readers, so feel free to drop me an email at author_scottborgman@yahoo.com, even if it’s just to say hello!


Author Interview

What inspired you to write a paranormal story?

Honestly, the Exiled trilogy came about after the tragic loss of my youngest son in 2010 when he was three. That event really opened my eyes and made me see things differently. I realized that we take so many things for granted in our daily lives that we’ve forgotten what the world was like when we saw it through innocent eyes. I wanted to pass on those lessons, while telling an interesting story. At the heart of the trilogy are those lessons – one of them is reflected in the covers themselves, that often we judge by what we see and not what lies underneath. That’s not to say readers will be bored, far from that! The trilogy takes modern day and mixes it with angels, mythology, some fantasy elements, tosses in a dash of horror, adds in plenty of action (and yes, some strong language along with some steamy scenes – not explicit… steamy!) and blends it all together.

Do you consider yourself to be a writer, a wanna-be writer, or a storyteller? Or do you have a new name altogether?

I don’t think it can be summed up in a single title. True, I’m a writer, but I’m also a storyteller, and a magician that can create images in the minds of the reader using nothing more than words. I’m an artist whose instruments and brushes are a computer and keyboard, whose musical notes and colors are words and sentences. And often I’m a comedian, as my sense of humor borders on overactive – I have my serious side, but taking time to laugh every day and put a smile on someone else’s face can make even the dreariest day brighter.

Describe your writing. What makes your story and style worth a reader’s time?

I mentioned the story before, so I won’t repeat that. As for my style, I write YA fantasy as well, which is geared toward a younger audience and a different genre. But one thing both my YA books and my Paranormal Romance share in common is that the main chars are often women who are more than capable of handling themselves. They don’t stand behind their male counterparts, needing them for protection as they traditionally have, they stand beside them… and often a step ahead of them. I think that throughout the years the big muscular men have tended to take the main roles, and I thought it was long overdue that the women got the spotlight as main characters.

How was your publication experience?

When I finished my first book, I tried the traditional route. Back when I was a kid, I thought it was simple. Write a book, send it to one of the big publishing houses, and it was printed. It was quite the wake-up call when I found out just what was involved! The query letter to a literary agent alone was harder than writing the book for me, but finally I did it and sent it off to close to two dozen agents. I received two replies. Out of twenty. Both were rejections, which was fine – I expected to have them all reject it (expect the worst, then you’re not disappointed was my thinking) but hearing nothing at all was worse than if I’d at least gotten a form letter saying not interested… at least then there would have been closure. So I went indie, and I’ve never looked back. There are so many indies out there who are not only amazing writers but they’re also so supportive of each other, I’m proud to be part of that. They’re more than colleagues… they’re my second family.

Can you give me one of your aha moments’?

I could, but that would be giving away spoilers. Let’s just say I had quite of few of those while writing the Exiled trilogy. Quite a few of them, which I hope readers will have as well. One thing about being an author is that we often get surprised as well, even being the ones writing the stories! I love those moments, because they make me feel even more connected to the characters, and if that can happen to me, I like to believe that readers will have that same experience.

James Bond ordered a martini, shaken, not stirred. What’s your poison?

My martini comes in the form of caffeine. Mt. Dew, to be specific. I consume far too much of it, but it keeps me awake during the late night writing sessions and when I’m attending Facebook events (which I take part in almost every weekend). Though as the soda intake increases, so does my humor level. It’s a good thing those events are always fun and everyone has a good time and gets silly!

Describe your favorite place to write when all the stars and moon are lined up perfectly, and your words flow faster than you can write.

I always write at my desk in my own little corner of the dining room. Late at night, when everyone is asleep, the house is absolutely silent, and I can concentrate on my work with no distractions. Those times are when I really zone in, everything around me gets tuned out, and the hours fly past.

The clincher — describe yourself in six words.

Honest, caring, dedicated, humorous, easy-going and appreciative.


About The Exiled Trilogy

Behind the simple looking covers, there is a deeper meaning to the Exiled trilogy, which tells the entire story through three books. In the first book, The Exiled, David’s ordinary life is turned upside down when he finds out that he holds the key to a struggle that has been going on for ages. Hunted by one side, sworn to be protected by the other, the fate of humanity rests on his shoulders as he discovers that the world he has known is covered by a veil which hides the truth behind it. The story continues in The Exiled: Continuation, as Lucifer hatches a new plan to escape his prison. Mortal enemies unite, and a new hunt begins. The monsters are real. And they’re coming – for David and Celeste’s daughter. Finally, the story reaches its stunning conclusion in The Exiled: Infinity, as Kaly takes a journey that will test her beyond anything she’s ever imagined, Cody searches for a way to stop an unbeatable foe, the angels fight to defend Heaven, the old gods battle for Olympus, and humanity faces the Apocalypse.

Deceptions take place. Sacrifices are made. And lessons, which are the heart and deeper meaning of the story, will be found throughout the pages. See what lies hidden behind the veil in a story that was written not just to entertain, but for a deeper purpose. A story that was meant to be told.

Buy the Books

Amazon page: http://www.amazon.com/author/scottborgman

Smashwords (book of Poetry which is perma-free): http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/278478

Connect with Scott A. Borgman

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/saborgman
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/scottborgman
Blog: http://www.scottborgman.blogspot.com

Thanks so much Scott A. Borgman for sharing your writing passions with us.

“Thank you again for the interview and giving me a chance to connect with other authors and readers!”

Would you like to participate in Paranormal Wednesday? Click here.

About shondabrock

I'm a southern in my heart and a northern in my soul. I've had a few bad wines, but for the most part I've enjoyed enough good wines that it makes up for the few bad bottles. I enjoy writing, but more than writing itself, I love telling a good story, taking my reader off on an adventure starting with "What If"…. I'm a sucker for the Paranormal Romance genre. To me, its nice to be released from "What Is Expected" and believe for 250 pages in "What If's". Its like a vacation with out passports, waiting in line and an expensive credit card bill when you return home. Please Enjoy, but more importantly Stay Inspired…
This entry was posted in Paranormal Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Author Scott A. Borgman on Paranormal Wednesday

  1. Thank you for the interview Shonda! ( and to Christa for running back and forth between us… so to speak 😉 )

  2. shondabrock says:

    Scott,

    Sorry for my delay. My working life sometime gets the best of me. Life comes at you in all directions.

    I want to Thank you for taking time for this interview. I’m so sorry to hear about your lost. I know there are no words to fill the emtyiness, but it sounds like you have found an outlet to keep you and your family’s spirit growing.
    I loved your interview and I can see your humor. I have a friend who is totally a Mt. dew drinker. I always start the conversation with “How many Dews have you done today?” Based on his answer I know how the conversation will go.
    But for you my friend, do what ever it takes to get you through the nights and if it helps you create these beautiful stories then by all means “Do the Dew” and I also enjoyed your ‘Ah Momements”
    I can’t wait to start reading so I can figure them out.

    Remember to to enjoy yourself and Stay Inspired,

    Shonda

    • It does, but meet life head on and don’t let anything stop you!

      “Nothing else matters except the one thing that is before you, the one goal that you’re reaching for. When you doubt in yourself, you create the one barrier that is impossible to overcome. The only thing that can stop you from reaching your goals is yourself.”
      ~~ Hermes, from ‘The Exiled’

      Have a wonderful weekend, Shonda, and everyone else!

  3. Pingback: “I Swear I Lived” | Shonda Brock Paranormal Romance Author

Leave a Reply

