PJ MacLayne on Paranormal Wednesday

PJ Maclayne.jpg

About PJ MacLayne

Born and raised among the rolling hills of western Pennsylvania, P.J. MacLayne still finds inspiration for her books in that landscapes. She is a computer geek by day and a writer by night who currently lives in the shadow of the Rocky Mountains. When she’s not in front of a computer screen, she might be found exploring the back roads of the nearby national forests and parks. In addition to the Free Wolves’ stories, she is also the author of the Oak Grove Mysteries series.

Interview with PJ MacLayne

What inspired you to write a paranormal story? The first book in the series, Wolves’ Pawn, was inspired by a dream. The new book, Wolves’ Knight is the story of one of the characters from that book, Tasha. I was in the middle of writing a different book and Tasha kept intruding. She wanted me to write her story so I did.

Do you consider yourself a writer, a want-a-be writer, or a storyteller? Or do you have a new name altogether? I consider myself a storyteller although I call myself a writer because that’s what people are used to hearing. What I’m trying to do is tell the stories my characters want to share.

Describe your writing. What makes your story and style worth a reader’s time? My characters are people that you might live next door to, people that the reader can identify with, people that could become your best friend.

James Bond ordered a martini, shaken, not stirred. What’s your poison? I’m a fan of an old standard—rum and coke. Of course, the better the rum, the better the drink.

Describe you favorite place to write when all the stars and the moon are lined up perfectly, and your words flow faster than you can write? There’s this little lake in the mountains near my home, where the mountains are reflected in the surface of the lake and various types of birds flutter among the reeds that grow at the water’s edge. There may be a few people fishing, but they don’t bother me. Once I’ve settled into a chair and I can write as long as my laptop’s battery lasts.

Who do you have to bribe, borrow, or steal from to find the time to create your works? I work full time and write in the evenings. I spend far too much time ignoring my dearly beloved husband in order to find time to arrange words in way that I hope others will enjoy.

The clincher–describe yourself in six words! How about four? One old hippie chick.

About Wolves’ Knight

Tasha Roeper knows what it means to protect your own. So when her friend, Dot Lapahie, CEO of Lapahie Enterprises, suspects that the Free Wolves are under attack, Tasha immediately signs on to lead the investigation and guard Dot.

But Tasha’s not convinced it’s the Free Wolves that are the target. She fears that her own pack—the Fairwood Pack—are the actual quarry and Dot is only a decoy.

The deeper Tasha digs, the more puzzles she uncovers.

Torn between tradition and a changing world, will Tasha risk everything to save a friend—including her own life—when old enemies arise?

Find PJ MacLayne

Blog

Facebook

Twitter

Google +

Amazon

 

Thanks so much to PJ MacLayne for sharing her writing passions with us.

Leave your comments for PJ MacLayne below!

Would you like to participate in Paranormal Wednesday? Click here.

About shondabrock

I'm a southern in my heart and a northern in my soul. I've had a few bad wines, but for the most part I've enjoyed enough good wines that it makes up for the few bad bottles. I enjoy writing, but more than writing itself, I love telling a good story, taking my reader off on an adventure starting with "What If"…. I'm a sucker for the Paranormal Romance genre. To me, its nice to be released from "What Is Expected" and believe for 250 pages in "What If's". Its like a vacation with out passports, waiting in line and an expensive credit card bill when you return home. Please Enjoy, but more importantly Stay Inspired…
This entry was posted in Paranormal Wednesday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to PJ MacLayne on Paranormal Wednesday

  1. “One old hippie chick” who is an Indie and writes about wolves? Sign me up!

    Loved the interview!

  2. shondabrock says:

    Ms. MacLayne,

    Thank you for the glimpse into your world. I love to hear how other writers get into the zone of writing and creating their Paranormal stories. It’s a party starting question, but it really only works on other Paranomral writers. Everyone else (non-writers) would wonder how much have you had to drink.

    On another note, I must tell you I’m familiar with your area and I’m a little jealous. I know you have witness Mother Nature at her best with those hillsides.

    Well, take care and stay inspired…

    • P.J. MacLayne says:

      Thanks Shonda, for hosting me. My mother just shakes her head and says she can’t figure out where I get my ideas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

