Author Aria Glazki on Paranormal Wednesday

Aria Glazki author of Mortal Musings

Please welcome Aria Glazki, author of Mortal Musings, to Paranormal Wednesday.

About Aria Glazki

Aria Glazki’s writing story started when her seventh-grade English teacher encouraged her to submit a class assignment for publication. That piece was printed, and let’s just say, she was hooked!

Since then, Aria has run a literary magazine, earned her degree in Creative Writing (as well as in French and Russian literatures), and been published here and there. Her romance novels Mending Heartstrings and Mortal Musings are now available. Though her first kiss technically came from a bear cub, and no fairytale transformation followed, Aria still believes magic can happen when the right people come together – if they don’t get in their own way, that is.

Other than all things literary, Aria loves spending time with her family, including her two unbearably adorable nieces. She also dabbles in painting, dancing, playing violin, and, given the opportunity, Epicureanism.


Interview

 

1. What inspired you to write a paranormal story?

I didn’t necessarily set out to write a paranormal romance, to be honest, but I was genuinely interested in the inevitably mutually frustrated relationship between a writer and a muse. Exploring how those two characters can come together and learn from each other was the driving force, but of course with a mythological muse thrown in, the story is definitely paranormal.

2. Do you consider yourself a writer, a wannabe writer, or a storyteller? Or do you have a new name altogether?

If I have to put a label on it, I guess I usually call myself an author, although some days I’m still a wannabe writer—in that I want to be writing rather than doing everything else!

3. Describe your writing. What makes your story and style worth a reader’s time?

The thing for which I most strive in my work is realism (yep, even in a paranormal story), not necessarily when it comes to situations but when it comes to developing genuine, well-rounded, whole characters who behave believably. In reading my books, people (hopefully) won’t have those frustrating of moments where you just want to shake the character screaming, “Why would you do that?!” My characters don’t do things because the plot needs them to, which can make the story more difficult to write, but I hope also more engaging to read.

4. How was your publication experience?

With Mortal Musings, it was quite a roller coaster. It had started down the traditional path, but ultimately that ended up being the wrong choice for this story, which meant switching over to indie publishing. That is an overwhelming amount of work, and research, and stress, but the reward is this book finally being available to readers, so unlike a roller coaster, the publication experience ended on a peak!

5. James Bond ordered a martini, shaken, not stirred. What’s your poison?

Chocolate, or more specifically perhaps a molten lava chocolate-raspberry dessert (yumm!)

6. Describe you favorite place to write when all the stars and the moon are lined up perfectly, and your words flow faster than you can write?

Honestly, anywhere I can be alone and physically comfortable (and with my laptop) works if the story is ready to be written. Otherwise, it doesn’t matter how ideal the conditions are, I’ll pretty much be staring at a blank page or torturing the same sentence.

7. In golf there’s always that one perfect stroke that keeps you coming back to play the game again and again, no matter how many bad shots were taken. Tell me that one compliment that was given or that gut feeling that inspires you to keep writing.

What keeps me writing are the stories that have to be told, but what keeps me sharing my work are the encouraging reviews from readers. Someone feeling something as a result or just enjoying the experience of reading, that’s what it’s all about. One of my favorite reviews of all time is probably one that said the reader had a big smile the whole book through.

8. Who do you have to bribe, borrow, or steal from to find the time to create your works?

Well, real life, of course, which means my ‘day’ job, running errands like grocery shopping sometimes, or doing laundry (good thing I work from home, so I can both work and write in my PJs!). Sometimes it means skipping social time with family and friends (sorry, everyone!), or not sleeping, depending on how deep in the story I am at the moment.


About Mortal Musings

Muse Alexandra has had it with the arrogant, ungrateful humans she is obligated to inspire. When the internal ranting of her latest charge pushes her past reason, she disregards the rules and forces her own words through his fingers, and is instantly entrapped in mortal form. With no magic, no identity, and no resources, Allie has no alternative but to navigate the mortal realm, depending entirely on her reluctant host while discerning what exactly caused her transformation — and how to reverse it.

Brett doesn’t have a chance to consider the words that mysteriously showed up on his screen; he’s too distracted by the stunning woman who appeared in his office out of nowhere. Before his brain can catch up, Brett’s uninvited guest becomes enmeshed in his everyday life. Her artless innocence gradually lessens his suspicions. Most importantly, the writer’s block that’s been plaguing him dissolves under the fantasies the naively beguiling Alexandra inspires.

All too soon, the forced proximity sparks a confounding awareness neither writer nor muse are able to resist.

Mortal Musings Cover

Book links:

 

Mortal Musings:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0122H197G/

Smashwords: http://smashwords.com/books/view/557545

B&N: http://barnesandnoble.com/w/books/1122259923

iBooks: http://itunes.apple.com/us/book/mortal-musings/id1021523124

Autographed print copies: http://ariaglazki.selz.com/item/5563aa95b79872102c666276

 

Mending Heartstrings:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00OQG1ROW

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/mending-heartstrings


 

Thanks so much to Aria Glazki for sharing her writing passions with us! 

Would you like to participate in Paranormal Wednesday? Click here.

About shondabrock

I'm a southern in my heart and a northern in my soul. I've had a few bad wines, but for the most part I've enjoyed enough good wines that it makes up for the few bad bottles. I enjoy writing, but more than writing itself, I love telling a good story, taking my reader off on an adventure starting with "What If"…. I'm a sucker for the Paranormal Romance genre. To me, its nice to be released from "What Is Expected" and believe for 250 pages in "What If's". Its like a vacation with out passports, waiting in line and an expensive credit card bill when you return home. An additional note: I've started another blog page for Home Care. I know the two are unrelated, but in my world they are. My paying job is 100% dedicated to Home Care and educating families on their new journey. One of my favorite quotes, I leave with all of my clients. "One's destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things." - by Henry Miller Please Enjoy, but more importantly Stay Inspired…
This entry was posted in Paranormal Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Author Aria Glazki on Paranormal Wednesday

  1. Aria Glazki says:

    Thanks so much for having me, Shonda (and Christa)!

  2. RedHeadedBookLover says:

    This is such an incredible Q&A! I was surprised by how much I loved reading this! You wrote an incredible post by the way and I love your blog!

  3. shondabrock says:

    Aria,

    Thank you for sharing your experiences in writing. I really loved your comments on changing paths from trying the traditional method to the indie process. It is a ton of work especially, if writing is your second job. But for those in the early stages, they can see you as an example. It can be done! Your book can come to life and be available for others to read.

    Again Thank you for your time and Stay Inspired,

    Shonda

    • Aria Glazki says:

      Switching paths can definitely be stressful, and either way indie publishing, when done correctly, is so much work. Too many people underestimate the effort it takes and end up discouraged, but if you take things one step at a time and make sure you have reasonable deadlines for yourself, it can be done! And you’re right, getting the book in front of readers is entirely worth it.

Leave a comment