Male Characters in Romance Novels – What’s your type?

Male characters in romance novels

In my paranormal romance series, Eternal Traces, Rene Daniels is the man who steals my heroine’s heart at first sight. He’s confusing, mysterious and a man of few words. Rene is a tender lover who leaves no flesh untouched, and also  leaves Meryt with a few fang marks in the morning. He is a vampire, but Meryt doesn’t mind, for they have been lovers for centuries and his loyalty and devotion are eternal.

This is my example. Every woman has her own preferences in male main characters. Which one of these is yours?

Types of romantic leading men range from dangerous and hard-hitting to sensitive and compassionate. Some readers feel drawn to the battle-hardened warrior whose rough exterior hides a big, warm heart. While others desire the tortured male character whose beautiful sadness can only be healed by the love of one woman.

There are still other types like the dangerous and menacing Heathcliff from Wuthering Heights. While other romance loving ladies may prefer the nice guy next door who protects the heroine though she has always overlooked him. And let’s not forget the super-intellectual father figure, or the quirky cute nerd, the witty detective, the stocky cuddly teddy bear, even the sexually depraved billionaire like Christian Grey—the list goes on and on.

Paranormal romance fans have more options of leading studs to choose from because there are no human limitations. A girl can spend hours in her favorite book with an immortal vampire, a powerful warlock or a fallen angel–and let’s not forget the demigod, Perseus, in the Wrath of the Titans.

So, romance readers, we are taking a poll!
What is your favorite type of leading man?
Strong or gentle?
Smart or funny?
Mortal or from an entirely different world altogether?

And calling all writers…
What kinds of leading men do you have the most fun writing?

Please leave your answer below!

 

Photo credit

 

Are you a writer? Don’t miss my writing contest where you can win $100 with just 690 of your words! Find out more here.

About shondabrock

I'm a southern in my heart and a northern in my soul. I've had a few bad wines, but for the most part I've enjoyed enough good wines that it makes up for the few bad bottles. I enjoy writing, but more than writing itself, I love telling a good story, taking my reader off on an adventure starting with "What If"…. I'm a sucker for the Paranormal Romance genre. To me, its nice to be released from "What Is Expected" and believe for 250 pages in "What If's". Its like a vacation with out passports, waiting in line and an expensive credit card bill when you return home. An additional note: I've started another blog page for Home Care. I know the two are unrelated, but in my world they are. My paying job is 100% dedicated to Home Care and educating families on their new journey. One of my favorite quotes, I leave with all of my clients. "One's destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things." - by Henry Miller Please Enjoy, but more importantly Stay Inspired…
This entry was posted in Paranormal Romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Male Characters in Romance Novels – What’s your type?

  1. letahawk says:

    I love the dark and broody, handsome man with a sharp wit who drives the woman to distraction with his teasing, but then turns into a sweet, gentle, yet playful lover.

  2. I like a mixture of all things. Not necessarily at the same time. If the character is believable, then he’s golden.

Leave a comment